Connect with us

Local News

NCCU presents 17 secondary school scholarships

The National Cooperative Credit Union (NCCU) Ltd will this morning present seventeen (17) secondary school scholarships to children of members of the NCCU Ltd.

Two (2) scholarships will be awarded based on merit and fifteen (15) based on need.

The NCCU says two (2) merit scholarships will be awarded to Anyeila Birmingham, who will receive the NCCU Merit Scholarship and Lizanne Cuffy, who will be awarded the Shand Jolly Merit Scholarship.

Fifteen (15) other scholarships will be presented in the names of credit union pioneers or volunteers, who provided and in some instances continue to provide committed service to the credit union movement.

These pioneers include Haynes Baptiste, Vernice Bellony, Ambrose Cuffy, Edward Elwin, Myrtle Hilton, Kenneth Richards, Hudson Savarin, Johnson Joseph, George Thomas and Marie Wilkins.

For the first time, the NCCU Ltd awarded The Derrick Lestrade scholarship, named after a credit union pioneer from the village of La Plaine. The Derrick Lestrade Scholarship will be awarded annually to children of members from La Plaine and the surrounding villages.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!